Delegations

Delegation visits

The University of Ottawa coordinates official visits by delegations from international institutions in line with the University of Ottawa's overall international strategy and objectives and visits with the participation of senior representatives (e.g., President, Vice-Presidents, Deans, Ambassadors). If you are interested in a meeting that is narrower in scope (such as meeting with a specific academic unit in order to discuss a research collaboration), please visit our website to contact the appropriate unit directly.


Please note :
InformationThe University of Ottawa receives many requests for delegation visits. Unfortunately, it is not possible to respond to all requests.

Request to visit the University of Ottawa

If you would like to visit the University of Ottawa and schedule meetings with different counterparts on our campus, please read the notes below and complete the visit request form.

  • Notes :

In order to ensure a quality visit, we require four to six weeks' notice for a visit request.

During the summer (May to August) many academics are away conducting research and, therefore, they may not be available to meet you during this time.


Request to visit the University of Ottawa


//www.youtube.com/embed/iiaY6HI6TE0?wmode=transparent&jqoemcache=wi9KJhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iiaY6HI6TE0nonefalsenoresize16:9undefinedundefinedcenter

Host a delegation

If your service or faculty is mandated to host an international delegation to the University of Ottawa, please refer to the sections below to help you plan the visit.


 

Collect information and evaluate the request

If the visit appears to be outside of the scope of your academic unit or Faculty and support at the Central level will be required, please instruct the delegation requestor to complete the international visit request form. This will be important in order to clearly identify the needs and desired activities of the delegation, and determine the appropriate involvement at uOttawa.

Gathering information:

  • It is important to collect accurate and detailed information early in the process to provide decision-makers with information that will affect the nature and success of the visit.
  • It is the responsibility of all universities that request to visit us to complete the international visit request form. This will allow us to clearly identify the needs and activities in which they wish to participate.

Evaluate the request:

  • The faculty or service evaluates the request according to the interests of its stakeholders and the University's strategic objectives, makes a recommendation on the opportunity to meet the delegation and suggests, if necessary, other potential participants from the University of Ottawa. For more prestigious delegations (government representatives, university presidents, embassies), contact the President's Office.

If you have any questions about the evaluation of the request:

Planning and preparation

Please visit the link below for a checklist of the steps to follow (as well as when to complete each step) when your academic unit or service receives a request for a delegation visit.

Checklist

Hébergement:

L'Université d'Ottawa a des tarifs spéciaux avec des hôtels près de notre campus. Lorsque vous réserverez votre séjour, avisez l’agent de réservation que vous voulez le tarif préférentiel de l’Université d’Ottawa:

 

Preparation of an invitation letter

Invitation letter:


To process visa applications from visiting delegations, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) may require Canadian universities to provide a letter of invitation.

Check the CIC website to find out what information should be included in the invitation letter.

  • Act quickly: As soon as a delegation's request to visit is accepted, check to see if the delegation needs an invitation letter. The visa application process can be lengthy; the faster the letter is sent, the more likely the delegation will receive its visas on time.
  • Manage expectations: In the letter, avoid making promises. It is preferable to use wording such as "discuss our mutual interests in internationalization" rather than "discuss a possible memorandum of understanding". Questions of this kind are discussed in person; we would not want to risk giving false hopes.
  • Inform key stakeholders: Before sending the letter, ensure that all the services, departments and faculties mentioned in the letter are notified of their participation in the visit. Not only is it a matter of professionalism, but in doing so, there is no risk of embarrassing the guests.
     
Welcome of the delegation

As far as possible, a representative of the University of Ottawa of equal rank to the head of the delegation should be present at one of the meetings, ideally the first of the day. If the University of Ottawa representative is very busy, a brief introduction and a word of welcome are sufficient to comply with the protocol.

As a general rule, the number of participants from the University of Ottawa should be approximately equal to the number of members of the delegation. It is difficult to apply this rule when the delegation is composed of only one person, in which case a ratio of at most 4:1 should be respected as much as possible.

Please visit the link below for a checklist of the steps to follow the day of the visit:

Checklist (day of the visit)

Back to top

Délégations

Visites de délégations

L’Université d’Ottawa coordonne les visites officielles de délégations d'institutions internationales universitaires et ce en lien avec la stratégie et les objectifs internationaux de l’Université d’Ottawa et avec la participation de hauts dignitaires (ex: recteur, vice-recteurs, doyens, ambassadeurs).  Si vous êtes intéressé par une réunion dont la portée est plus restreinte (par exemple, une réunion avec une unité scolaire particulière afin de discuter d'une collaboration de recherche), veuillez visiter notre site Web pour communiquer directement avec l'unité appropriée.


Veuillez noter :
InformationL’Université d’Ottawa reçoit de nombreuses demandes de visites de délégation. Il n’est malheureusement pas possible de répondre à toutes les demandes.

Demande de visite à l’Université d’Ottawa

Si vous souhaitez visiter l'Université d'Ottawa et planifier des rencontres avec différents homologues sur notre campus, veuillez lire les remarques ci-dessous et remplir le formulaire de demande de visite.

  • Remarques :

Afin d’assurer une visite de qualité, nous demandons un préavis de quatre à six semaines pour une demande de visite.

Pendant l'été (de mai à août), de nombreux professeurs et sont absents pour effectuer de la recherche et, par conséquent, il se peut qu'ils ne soient pas disponibles pour vous rencontrer pendant cette période.


Demande de visite à l’Université d’Ottawa


//www.youtube.com/embed/iiaY6HI6TE0?wmode=transparent&jqoemcache=t9e8ghttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iiaY6HI6TE0nonefalsenoresize16:9undefinedundefinedcenter

Accueillir une délégation

Si votre service ou faculté est mandaté pour accueillir une délégation internationale à l'Université d'Ottawa, veuillez vous référer aux sections ci-dessous afin de vous aider à planifier la visite. 


 

Recueillir l’information et évaluation de la demande

Si la visite n'entre pas dans le cadre de votre unité scolaire ou de votre faculté et qu'un soutien au niveau central est nécessaire, veuillez demander au responsable de la délégation de remplir le formulaire de demande de visite internationale. Ceci sera important afin d'identifier clairement les besoins et les activités souhaitées de la délégation et de déterminer la participation appropriée à l'uOttawa.

Recueillir l'information:

  • Il importe de recueillir des renseignements exacts et détaillés dès le début du processus afin de fournir aux décideurs de l’information qui aura une incidence sur la nature et la réussite de la visite.
  • Il incombe de faire remplir le formulaire de demande de visite internationale à toutes les universités qui demandent de nous rendre visite. Ceci nous permettra de bien cerner les besoins et activités auxquelles ils souhaitent prendre part.

Évaluer la demande:

  • La faculté ou le service évalue la demande selon les intérêts de ses parties prenantes et les objectifs stratégiques de l’Université, formule une recommandation sur l’opportunité de rencontrer la délégation et suggère, s’il y a lieu, d’autres éventuels participants de l’Université d’Ottawa. Dans le cas des délégations plus prestigieuses (représentants de gouvernement, recteurs d’université, ambassades), il faut communiquer avec le Cabinet du recteur.

Si vous avez des questions concernant l'évaluation de la demande:

Planification et préparation

Veuillez consulter le lien ci-dessous pour obtenir une liste des étapes à suivre (ainsi que la date à laquelle chaque étape doit être complétée) lorsque votre unité scolaire ou service reçoit une demande de visite d'une délégation. 

Liste de vérification

Hotels:

The University of Ottawa has special rates with hotels near our campus. When you book your stay, you have to mention that you want the University of Ottawa preferential fee:

Préparation d’une lettre d’invitation

Lettre d’invitation :

Pour traiter les demandes de visa des délégations en visite, Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC) peut exiger que les universités canadiennes produisent une lettre d’invitation.

Consultez le site Web de CIC pour savoir quels renseignements doivent figurer dans la lettre d’invitation.

  • Agir sans tarder : Dès qu’une demande de visite d’une délégation est acceptée, vérifiez si la délégation a besoin d’une lettre d’invitation. Le processus de demande de visa peut être long; plus la lettre est expédiée rapidement, plus la délégation sera susceptible de recevoir ses visas à temps.
  • Gérer les attentes : Dans la lettre, évitez de faire des promesses. Il est préférable d’employer des formulations comme « discuter de nos intérêts mutuels en matière d’internationalisation » plutôt que « discuter d’un éventuel protocole d’entente ». Les questions de cet ordre se discutent en personne; on ne voudrait pas risquer de donner de faux espoirs.
  • Informer les principaux intervenants : Avant l’envoi de la lettre, veillez à ce que tous les services, départements et facultés mentionnés dans la lettre soient avisés de leur participation à la visite. Non seulement c’est une question de professionnalisme, mais, ce faisant, on ne risque pas de mettre les invités dans l’embarras.
Accueil de la délégation

Dans toute la mesure du possible, un représentant de l’Université d’Ottawa d’un rang égal à celui du chef de la délégation devrait être présent à l’une des rencontres, idéalement la première de la journée. Si le représentant de l’Université d’Ottawa est très occupé, une brève présentation et un mot de bienvenue suffisent pour respecter le protocole.

En règle générale, le nombre de participants de l’Université d’Ottawa devrait être à peu près égal à celui des membres de la délégation. Il est difficile d’appliquer cette règle quand la délégation se compose d’une seule personne, auquel cas il faut respecter, dans toute la mesure du possible, un ratio d’au plus 4:1.

Veuillez consulter le lien ci-dessous pour obtenir une liste des étapes à suivre la journée même de la visite:

Liste de vérification (journée de la visite)

Haut de page